Stuart Mathlin MEMORIAL TROPHY 2020

CCNSW – Stuart Mathlin Memorial Trophy Golf Day, September 13, 2020, at St Michaels Golf Club, Little Bay. Report by Michael Weaver.

Michael Weaver teeing up at St Michaels, 13 September 2020
Scott Wells follows another booming drive

Sixteen keen participants gathered to contest the 2020 Stuart Mathlin Memorial Trophy in excellent conditions for golf, at the magnificent St Michaels course, last Sunday.  See the Main Golf page for more information about the Stuart Mathlin Memorial Trophy.

Winner of the previous edition, Mick Tarrant, has been now been superseded. Sincere congratulations extend to new champion Scott Campbell, who negotiated the tricky course extremely well, to compile 38 Individual Stableford points. Scott also collected a prize for his booming drive at the 6th hole. 

The best ball award was taken out by Scott Wells and his old Springwood golf club partner Mike Weaver. ‘Wellsy’s’ consistently high standard of play balanced well with ‘Weaves’ occasional four and three point contributions, one a result of a ‘nearest the pin’ effort at the 12th hole. As such, they were able attain the total of 47 points, to be the pair of the day. 

Several very entertaining ‘air swings’ were reported as being common during Craig ‘Sadler’ Fletcher’s ‘Bradman score’ round. Entertaining at least to the rest of his playing group – Messrs Benson, Spedding and Tarrant. It was perhaps not so amusing for Craig, who was making his debut in the event. He definitely enjoyed the day though and especially the drinks afterwards. 

Many thanks to Doug Mathlin, his son Will and Tim Hudson for taking part and we look forward to the tradition continuing with their company in the future. As we wish everyone who played, to try again next year. 

Dale Richards and Mick McCormick: two stalwarts of the St Michaels course
Doug Mathlin accepts the Stuart Mathlin Memorial Trophy on behalf of the winner, Scott Campbell. From left: Will Mathlin, Doug Mathlin, Michael Weaver, and Mick McCormick.

Groups and Stableford Scores: 

Note: Players’ handicaps are stated in brackets.

Group 1

Dave Benson (21) – 34 points

Andrew Spedding (18) – 18 points 

Combined best ball score: 35 

Mick Tarrant (21) – 30 points 

Craig Fletcher (36) – 11 points 

Combined best ball score: 35 

Group 2

Brian Breakspear (20) 21 points 

Luke Holman (27) 21 points

Combined best ball score: 29

Cameron Breakspear (13) 30 points

Dane Durbin (17) 31 points 

Combined best ball score: 40

Group 3

Scott Wells (13) 35 points 

Mike Weaver (26) 30 points 

Combined best ball score: 47

Dale Richards (25) 31 points

Mick McCormick (20) 25 points

Combined best ball score: 40

Group 4

Doug Mathlin (?) 34 points 

Will Mathlin (?)27 points 

Combined best ball score: 42

Scott Campbell(9) 38 points 

Tim Hudson (?) 29 points 

Combined best ball score: 40

Overall Award Winners:

Winner, Individual – Scott Campbell, 38 points 

Winner, Best Ball – Scott Wells, Mike Weaver, 47 points 

Longest  drive (Hole 6) – Scott Campbell  

Nearest pin (Hole 12) – Mike Weaver

Bradman Award – Craig Fletcher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *