City and Suburban

Back Row: -Gerard O’Shea, Jonathan  Shaw, Mike Weaver (w), Adam Durant, James Murtha (c), Matt Edge
Bottom row: – Adam Khamis, Matt Leong, Soren Hughes, Tom Robertson, Ed Robertson, Ian Robertson.

Playing for CCNSW in the City and Suburban Competition

The Club is always  keen to attract new younger players. Anyone wishing to play for CCNSW in City and Suburban games  should contact Jamie Murtha (c) or Soren Hughes (v/c) at

The City and Suburban Association 1903 Inc. was founded in 1903. 

The 2023-2024 season will start on Saturday 7 October and end on Saturday 23 March.

2023-2024 City and Suburban Fixture Card

There were 17 teams participating during the last 2022-23 season and a similar number expected next season:: Beavers, Colleagues, C.C.N.S.W., Eastern Suburbs Pacers, Hunters Hill, I Zingari (Australia)*,  Knox Old Boys, Nondescripts*, Old Aloysians, Old Cranbrookians , Paddington, Primary Club of Australia,  Quasmi CC, Reg Bartley XI, St George Veterans, Sydney University Lions (formerly known as Sydney University Veterans)*  and Yaralla* .

(* means one of the Foundation Clubs in 1903).

The Cricketers’ Club of New South Wales home ground is the very attractive tree lined ground at Camperdown Park in Mallett Street, Camperdown. The ground has full facilities including covers, sightscreens, a supersopper, and a new pavilion opened in March 2017, which includes an air conditioned canteen, change rooms and showers. Adjoining the ground on one side is a café and on the other side a licensed restaurant called “Camperdown Greens”.

Matches are played on Saturday and Sunday  afternoons.  All are on turf wickets with 4-piece balls generally commencing at 1.00pm (sometimes 1.30pm) and are generally 35 overs per side. Next season CCNSW will try to arrange some games starting at 12.15pm with 40 overs p side The season starts the week after the long weekend in October and continues till the end of March and constitutes approximately 20 games.

There is no overall league table and points are not awarded in the C&S “Competition” in non “Jack Pace Shield” games. However, there is a five round pre-Christmas Jack Pace league from which the eight leading teams progress into a three round quarter final, semi final and final competition after Christmas for the “Jack Pace Memorial Shield”. C.C.N.S.W. has won The Shield four times, and made the semi-finals in 2021-22 but last season finished sixteenth.

In addition there is an 8 team T20 Wednesday evening competition at Reg Bartley Oval, Rushcutters Bay. Currently CCNSW does not currently participate in this.